The broken piece.

I have felt like i was a broken piece

Jagged and twisted,unable to fit in.

Ahh! how perfect was the puzzle

Beautiful , normal and serene.

I tried and tried and tried,

to break the fences around it.

I cried and cried and cried,

Anything to fit!

I broke the fences atlast,

the glass cutting me all over

Making me bleed and bleed

though i didn’t feel like i was freed!

And then i tried to fit

in my perfect, beautiful puzzle.

I tried to sneak in bit by bit.

I couldnt find any place though.

I tried to turn my fire to ice

Anything to belong somewhere

I was ruled by my heart

Thus the remains lay everywhere.

How heartbroken i was

To realize I didn’t belong

And i would never get my “normal”

For i considered myself abnormal.

Now i know, i wasn’t broken,

Neither was i forsaken.

I am not a piece but the picture itself.

I am complete by myself.

Note: Its just my metaphorical way of expressing the struggles i faced while “fitting in”. In the end i realized that it was all about finding the right people. With the right people, you wouldn’t feel the need to fit in because they would never make you feel like you didn’t belong. And please feel free to point out any grammatical mistakes. I am bad at editing and i want to improve myself.  Thank you for reading.

3 thoughts on “The broken piece.

  1. Sidharth says:

    I really liked the way you ended the poem with lines “I am not a piece but the picture itself.
    I am complete by myself.” I couldn’t have agreed with you more that we all have our individual aspect that makes us complete in our own respect. Thanks for expressing & sharing such a beautiful thought! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them 🙂

    Warm Regards,
    Sidharth
    https://sweetdevil69.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

